KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: JEFF OTENGO @jeffinhoHQ

IMG-20151120-WA0010[1]“We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time. ” ~ T. S. Eliot.
Another Friday to know a different traveler. Welcome to KTOT !!

  1. First, just tell us about yourself.

I am Jeff Otengo, I just turned 20.I currently work at Strategic Africa. I am a football fanatic and take a keen interest in other sports such as tennis and F1. I would consider myself a travel enthusiast and have a great passion for entrepreneurship. I am an extrovert. I like to keep fit so I do try and exercise regularly, the rest I will save for next time.

  1. Where did you get that love for tourism, nature and traveling from?

I have been privileged to have grown up in three different countries! So travelling started at a young age. I find nothing more refreshing than travelling to a good destination, enjoying the nature and the company of friends or family.

  1. Are you contented with how much you have traveled and places you have visited so far? What was your best destination?

I am definitely not contented with how much I have travelled. I believe there is so much more that I haven’t seen or experienced out there. I have been to some lovely destinations both locally and abroad but I’d say the one I had the best time I have had was last year(2015) with FunTravel Kenya when we went to Aberdares.

IMG_20151107_145832[1]
In the background is part of Karuru Falls, Aberdares.
  1. Take us through your travel bucketlist.

I could write a whole book on this, haha! But I’ll keep it short. In no particular order: Malindi, Maasai Mara, Nanyuki, Rio de Janeiro and bungee jumping.

  1. How often do you travel?

The nature of my work doesn’t allow me to travel frequently but I do try to do a couple of trips a year. If I was to put estimation may be two or three.

  1. What are the most important lessons you have learnt from your trips?

Travelling, especially in a group is one of the most powerful ways to bond. The memories, laughter and scenery are priceless. You get to learn about different cultures and get to appreciate what you have in your life because some areas in Kenya are seriously under developed and many communities live in poverty.IMG_20151107_102709[1]

  1. What is the most frustrating part about trips?

The unpredictable change of weather.

  1. Do you consider yourself a traveler or a tourist? Why?

I would consider myself a traveler. I like to interact and get to know the different cultures of the places I visit. I do cover a lot of kilometers before I reach the destinations and probably go to places less travelled by most people. I will admit I do take many pictures and admire the scenery on my trips so I would qualify as a tourist too.

  1. Any comments on #TembeaKenya efforts and to others about traveling through Kenya?

The brand is making great strides, I am impressed. It is promoting tourism in a very effective way and it makes one feel like travelling every week. I would encourage Kenyans to travel more within Kenya and experience the amazing destinations most foreigners dream about.

  1. Funtravel Hot Seat: You have been invited for a road-trip, have three people to invite on board but you only have two seats left; Avril, Amileena and Sanaipei Tande. One will sit next to you, the other will sit at the back of the bus and the third will not board. Who will be where?

Okay..Avril would definitely be beside me, haha! I mean I know a couple of selfies and a snap story will have to be taken just to make some guys jealous. Sanaipei Tande can take the back seat; unfortunately Amileena would not make the bus.

IMG-20151108-WA0002[1]

We are grateful to Jeff for allowing us to interview him. If you have any comments, please share in the section below or via our twitter page @funtravelke . You can also suggest anyone to be considered for future interviews. Thank you.

PS: All photos courtesy of Jeff.

 

REMEMBER to vote for this blog as the best travel blog in Kenya. Vote via this link(blogawards.co.ke/vote) and select 15E.

Leave a Reply

