KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: ARNOLD OLUNJA @arnoldolunja

WE ARE BACK!! The weekly KTOT is back. Do you know any travelers out there?We know a few and this is the place we get them to say a few words. We are priviledged to host Arnold(Twitter: @arnoldolunja, Wordpress: https://arnoldolunja.wordpress.com/) for this second season, welcome to this week’s Hot Seat!
IMG_9147

      1. First, just tell us about yourself and what is your profession.
        My name is Arnold Olunja, I will be 23 years old in a few months time. I have one brother who happens to be younger than me so I guess that makes me the first born. I live in Nyayo Estate in Embakasi. I recently graduated from Kabarak University in Nakuru County, I studied Bachelor of commerce and majored in Finance, so my profession is related to anything around accounts and finance. I am a sports fans preferably Football (Arsenal die hard), Rugby, F1 and recently a tennis fanatic. In a nutshell, I am social, loquacious and not easily angered hence always possess a smile.
      2. Your love for tourism and traveling, is it inborn or due to your line of work/activities?3
        I have been a fan travelling for quite some time; it has always been in borne. Considering my rural area is in nyanza, it was always something I looked forward to. It would be one of my favorite times and plus from a young age I remember us having so many travels as a family.
      3. Are you contented with how much you have traveled and places you have visited so far? What was your best destination?
        I have done numerous travels but I am not contented. There are some places I have never visited and you’d find people have had a repeat of that destination. Personally I have never been at the Mara, somewhere even the leader of the free world can attest to the beauty but as for me I would only admire it in photos.  My favorite destination would be Aberdares, Magadi and Malindi in that order. Sometimes the destination may not make it great but the company you have and my best company was for the Aberdares trip, something I will always remember.
      4. Take us through your travel bucketlist.
        This is very simple;
        Kayaking
        Visit Maasai Mara
        Roadtrip to Arusha and Kampala
        Sandy beaches of Dubai.
        I know the list is endless but those would be my preference at the moment.
      5. How often do you travel?
        Not as much as I would like to travel but I have vowed to create memories as we know there are memories that time does not erase.  We don’t remember days, we remember moments.IMG_9311
      6. What are the most important lessons you have learnt from your trips?
        When you travel with different people, you meet people with different views, people from different cultures and people with different beliefs. Learn to understand them and you will always have a great time. The key is to understand each other, find something you have in common and enjoy yourselves.
      7. What is the most frustrating part about trips?
        The ups and downs, the unexpected nature and how it is difficult to predict the weather. Imagine only having tees and then in the middle of the trip it decides to rain.
      8. Do you consider yourself a traveler or a tourist? Why?
        Generally speaking, I consider myself a traveler since i try to explore the less-traveled areas and explore locations where tourism doesn’t drive the economy. I’ll interact with locals where my goals for the trip will be to learn and experience new thingsDSCN8050
      9. Any comments on #TembeaKenya efforts and to others about traveling through Kenya?
        This is a great initiative as it does help one know places they can visit in our beloved country and it promotes the beautiful scenery of our country. I mean we live in the most beautiful country in the whole world not to brag or anything but that is just a fact.
      10. Funtravel Hot Seat: You are going for a roadtrip, but you have only two seats left and have three ladies to invite on board; Brenda Wairimu, Sarah Hassan and Julie Gichuru. One will sit next to you (at the front), the other will sit at the back of the bus and the third will not board. Who will be where?
        Lol! This one is almost simple for the person to sit next to me I have always had a crush on Sarah Hassan, definitely she would sit next to me, I mean that beauty, it is like she becomes more beautiful day by day, we would figure out how I would make her forget her fiancé, hehe.  Now who to sit at the back, mmmh, I would have Brenda Wairimu sit at the back and Julie Gichuru will not board the bus.

 

We are grateful to for the interview. If you have any comments, please share on the comments’ section or via our twitter page @funtravelke . You can also suggest anyone to be considered for future interviews. Thank you.

PS: All photos courtesy of Arnold.

 

REMEMBER to vote for this blog as the best travel blog in Kenya. Vote via this link(blogawards.co.ke/vote) and select 15E.

 

 

Leave a Reply

