KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: ROBERT ‘ROADTRIP GURU’ MAHEBO

me,
The Roadtrip Guru

If you are an avid instagram user or a twitter junkie or a photography enthusiast, you have probably seen his works already. We have Robert Mahebo on the hot seat today, @RoadTripGuruke on IG and twitter. He is a professional photographer who happens to have also fallen in love with tourism.

  1. First, tell us about yourself and how you are involved in the tourism industry.

I am the road trip guru and a travel enthusiast. Though my name may deceive you, I’m still an infant in travel, learning the crawls and walks that accompany this lifestyle. I explore everything of interest from just cities and towns to museums and picturesque locations therein.

  1. We have noticed you have immense love for photography and nature, how and when did this start?

    Mombasa sunset
    Mombasa Sunset

I have grown up doing photography, playing with the 35mm film to capture bits of my life. After working in the advertising industry for a while, I decided to pick up photography on a full time basis and go freelance on Ad work. To make sure I had made a good life decision, I took my camera, drove myself to Naivasha and camped there for a night. The feel of tranquility and utmost peace away from the bustle of city life was the stamp of approval I needed. That was two years back.

  1. How often do you travel?

I try and travel at least every weekend but this will depend on my work schedule and availability of finances. In a month I am assured of a minimum of two new places and at best one new stranger to friend.  

  1. What can you not travel without?

My phone with its power bank, my two cameras and their lenses and money in *Mpesa, You never know what will happen out there but at least Mpesa works.

  1. Thus far, what are your 3 favorite places in the world and why?
African heritage house
Lake victoria boatride

Iten…the air, the views and the possibilities in this place is immense.Mau forest, I have had the opportunity to go and hunt for monkeys with dogs deep in the Mau forest. The fear of turning from hunter to the hunted makes for a good adrenaline boost. Meeting with the Ndorobo tribe is also a plus. Lastly, African Heritage house in Mlolongo makes for a great collection of artifacts and cultural history. Its architectural borrow from Timbuktu’s style gives it a foreign appeal.

  1. What are 5 destinations or activities in your bucket list?

Why are you limiting me to five, I have a list…a long list. I will try to stop at 5, no promises though.

  • Morocco, for the architecture.
  • Table Mountains of South Africa.
  • Germany for the Autobahn and the Nurburgring. Yes, I love speed.
  • Botswana to explore the Okavango delta Maldives, to propose or the honeymoon Swim in Victoria fall’s devil pool.
  • Paragliding over the rift valley at Iten.
  • Snorkeling, I haven’t decided where yet.
  • Spanish Running of the bulls, to take pictures.
  • Dead Sea swimming or floating.

Sorry. (Laughs)

  1. What is your favorite mode of transport in your travels?
Ngong hills hike
Ngong Hills Hike

I prefer driving myself to the locations. As a photographer, I tend to notice small things that I’d want to shoot. The freedom of being able to pull over and get that shot makes me love road and self-driving to be precise.

  1. What are your upcoming travel plans- say for 2015?

If I get the Land Rover before the end of the year, I will be doing a 7 week drive to Malawi and back. Since it is not here yet, I am planning on exploring more museums and heritage sites within the country before I travel to do the same in Tanzania sometime midyear.

  1. What are the most important lessons you have learnt from your trips?

Apart from learning that nothing beats good company for a hike, the most important lesson I got to learn was… be friendly to everyone you meet on the way and in life, you never know where they will come to be a blessing to you.

  1. Any comments on #TembeaKenya and to others about traveling?

I have always linked my travel pictures to this hashtag when I post. I believe it needs to be made into an active online presence, as with every new picture comes new interest from someone new.

We are grateful to @RoadTripGurukefor the interview. You can see his works or contact him via the following accounts, Website: www.roadtripguru.co.ke Facebook: RoadTripGuru Twitter: RoadTripGuruke Instagram: RoadTripGuruke . If you have any comments, please share on the comments’ section or via our twitter page @funtravelke . You can also suggest anyone to be considered for future interviews. Thank you.

Mt longonot side
Mt Longonot Crater
Mombasa trip
Iten view
Mt longonot
One thought on “KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: ROBERT ‘ROADTRIP GURU’ MAHEBO

Leave a Reply

