KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: SAMMY MWANGI

IMG_20141204_083523_0Are you a seasoned hiker, or have you ever thought of hiking? Well, today we introduce to you somebody who has done it for sometime now. Meet Samuel Mwangi, founder of mountreksnsafaris.com. His contacts; Mwangi Sammy on FB and on twitter.

  1. First, just tell us about yourself and how you are involved in the tourism industry.

I am SAMUEL MUTAHI MWANGI, born and raised at the foot-hills of Mt Kenya. I am a part of the tourism industry through my company as you are already aware. I fulfill my client{s} destination interests.

  1. Where did you get that love for tourism, nature and traveling from?

After high school, back in 2009, I came to Nanyuki town in look for a job.In the course of hustling I came across a friend who happened to work as a mountain porter on Mt Kenya. He introduced me to mountain porting, and I took it up as a way to earn a living. After I did my first trip, I grew this deep interest in nature and traveling. I continued as a porter,  working with most major tour companies thereby gaining practical and hand-on experience and now by profession till came to establishing my own company MOUNTREKS N’ SAFARIS.

  1. Are you contented with how much you have traveled and places you have visited so far?

Yes I am contented with the places I have been to. For instance, a certain client happened to ask how I still find Mt Kenya amazing and I have been there for more than 100 times. It’s the love I have for hiking.

  1. What is your best destination so far?

That has to be when I climbed Mt Kilimanjaro for my very first time, the best feeling in this world.(Sighs)

IMG_0201 DSC_1517

  1. Take us through your travel bucketlist.

(Stops to think for a while) I will tell you my travel bucket list for 2015; Climb Mt Kilimanjaro, visit Lake Turkana, get to the most unexplored parts of kenya like North Eastern, hike to top of Mt Kenya… which is probably obvious etc.

  1. How often do you travel?

Depends on high and low seasons or willingness of a client booking with us.

  1. What are the most important lessons you have learnt from your trips?

The fact that we travel not to escape life but for life not to escape us.IMG-20150118-WA0000

  1. What is the most frustrating part about trips?

When a client{s} is dissatisfied with the services we offer, if he/she just sees everything as negative. It makes you think twice of what you are doing.

  1. Do you consider yourself a traveler or a tourist? Why?

I consider myself a tourist because life is not meant to be lived in one place.

  1. Any comments on #TembeaKenya efforts and to others about traveling through Kenya?

I feel great having #Tembeakenya with us around as its helping market our country in a great stride, either to domestic or international tourists. To others, if you are not a good traveler, maybe now is a good time to get your butts off the couch and start exploring the world. It is a beautiful site beyond that screen you stare at.

Digital Camera Digital Camera IMG_20141204_085324_0 DSC_1650IMG_20141203_075927_0 IMG_20141111_130618

We are grateful to  for the interview. If you have any comments, please share on the comments’ section or via our twitter page . You can also suggest anyone to be considered for future interviews. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “KNOW THE OTHER TRAVELER: SAMMY MWANGI

  1. Hi,hoping you’re all fine.First i would apologize for not replying this mail on time. For the past four days I’ve been to Selolipi in Samburu county working with an NGO from Australia in help to communities building rain harvest tanks.

    Secondly am more than thankful form featuring me on this blog.For sure first time i didn’t believed it will work out. You just don’t know how much you’ve exposed me to the world and can’t get the words to explain this.

    Lastly is that am all flexible to be fetured in any other blogs and if you’ve some you recommend so i can check them out!!
    Again am very thankful,
    Kindest Regards, Sammy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

